12,758 Images : Last Update : Dec 11, 2023
Feb 2017


Reviewer(s): Dharam M. Ramnani, MD
The 2015 WHO Classification of Lung Tumors has undergone significant changes since the publication of 2004 WHO Classification. These changes have resulted from advances in molecular testing and radiology as well as greater use of immunohistochemistry in subtyping tumors.

The major changes in the 2015 WHO classification of adenocarcinomas of the lung (resected tumors) are: 1) Discontinuing the terms bronchioloalveolar carcinoma and mixed subtype adenocarcinoma; 2) Adding Adenocarcinoma-in-situ to the list of pre-invasive lesions; 3) Introducing the concept of minimally-invasive adenocarcinoma; 4) Classification of invasive adenocarcinomas based on the predominant subtype; 5) Use of the term "lepidic" for non-invasive component in an invasive adenocarcinoma; 6) Introduction of the term "invasive mucinous adenocarcinoma" for cases previously classified as mucinous bronchioloalveolar carcinoma; 7) Discontinuing the use of clear cell and signet ring cell adenocarcinoma subtypes; 8) Discontinuing the term mucinous cystadenocarcinoma and including them in colloid adenocarcinoma.

Reference: Travis WD et al. WHO Classification of Tumours of the Lung, Pleura, Thymus and Heart; 4th edition, pages 26-50. International Agency for Research on Cancer, Lyon, 2015.

Adenocarcinoma of Lung : Gross

Lepidic Adenocarcinoma of Lung

Acinar Adenocarcinoma of Lung

Papillary Adenocarcinoma of Lung

Micropapillary Adenocarcinoma of Lung

Solid Adenocarcinoma of Lung

Invasive Mucinous Adenocarcinoma of Lung

Colloid Adenocarcinoma of Lung

Adenocarcinoma of Lung : Immunohistochemistry

Lung Adenocarcinoma : Molecular Genetics

Enteric Adenocarcinoma of Lung

Minimally-invasive Adenocarcinoma of Lung

Adenocarcinoma-in-situ/Atypical Adenomatous Hyperplasia

Lung Adenocarcinoma : Unusual Patterns